Activating an item is key to managing the catalog. In the software, an activated item means it is available in stores and it therefore can be placed on a guideline. On the opposite, a deactivated item means it no longer is available (e.g. discontinued item). You will notice:
A deactivated item will not be available in the library when building guidelines. If placed on a shelf, the item will still appear and a pop-up window will read "This item is deactivated".
An archived item will also still appear on your shelf but a window will show up with the same warning information "This item is archived".
Watch the video below to see how to activate or deactivate an item:
If you have Super Admin access, you can view both activated and deactivated guidelines.